Over the course of its existence, Laker hockey has claimed five national championships; two from its stint in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and three while a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA.)  On top of those, the Lakers have also finished runner up four times, in 1968, 1969, 1970 (NAIA) and 1993 (NCAA.)

The Lakers have also finished in first place to win the conference regular season title eight times:

International Collegiate Hockey Association (ICHA) – 1967-68, 1969-70, 1971-72, and 1972-73.

Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) – 1973-74, 1987-88, 1990-91 and 1995-96.

In addition, the Lakers have won the CCHA tournament four times and have played in the conference championship game 12 times, including a run of 9 straight from 1988 to 1996.  

Conference Championship Game Breakdown (CCHA)
1974 – Lost vs Saint Louis, 8-3
1975 – Lost vs Saint Louis, 8-3
1985 – Lost vs Michigan State, 5-1
1988 – Lost vs Bowling Green, 5-3
1989 – Lost vs Michigan State, 4-1
1990 – Lost vs Michigan State, 4-3
1991 – Won vs Michigan, 6-5 (OT)
1992 – Won vs Michigan, 3-1
1993 – Won vs Miami, 3-0
1994 – Lost vs Michigan, 3-0
1995 – Won vs Michigan State, 5-3
1996 – Lost vs Michigan, 4-3


1971-72 NAIA Champions

After coming up short against Bemidji State in the 1968, 69 and 70 championship games, the team finally made it over the hump, defeating Wisconsin-Superior in the semifinals 12-2, before beating Gustavus Adolphus 9-3 for its first title

1971-72 Laker Hockey team, coached by Ron Mason.

1973-74 NAIA Champions

The Lakers beat Concordia College 7-1 and the University of St. Thomas 9-2 before getting a rematch against Bemidji State. The Soo Lakers downed the Beavers 4-2 to win it all.

1973-74 Laker Hockey team, coached by Rick Comley.

1987-88 NCAA Champions

The Lakers won the CCHA regular season title with a 30-6-6 record, and made the NCAA tournament as an at-large selection. After a first round bye, the Lakers defeated Merrimack in a best of three set, advancing them to the frozen four. There, Lake Superior downed Maine 6-3 before taking the crown against St. Lawrence 4-3 in overtime. The jersey of Mark Vermette, who scored the winner, hangs in a display case in the Taffy Abel Arena.

  1987-88 Laker Hockey team, coached by Frank Anzalone.
The jersey worn by Mark Vermette when he scored the overtime goal to win the 1988 championship.     

1991-92 NCAA Champions

Lake Superior made the NCAA tournament as the CCHA tournament champions with a 26-9-4 record. The Lakers dispatched Alaska-Anchorage 7-3 and Minnesota 8-3 en route to the Frozen Four. There, Lake Superior defeated Michigan State 4-2 before tackling Wisconsin 5-3 for the title.

1991-92 Laker Hockey team, coached by Jeff Jackson.

1993-94 NCAA Champions

After falling to Maine in the title game the previous year, Lake Superior made the NCAA tournament as an at-large selection based on their 27-10-4 record. After three straight overtime wins, against Northeastern, Michigan and Harvard, the Lakers obliterated Boston University 9-1 in the title game.

1993-94 Laker Hockey team, coached by Jeff Jackson.